Like Us on Facebook!

for Soprano Saxophone and Orchestra

Adapted from the Sonata for Soprano Saxophone and Piano.

Duration: 13’, 42”
Personnel: Solo Soprano. Saxophone, 2222/2220/Timp., Perc. (1), Hp. Str.

Premiere: 13 November 2009
St. John’s Anglican Church; Lunenberg, Nova Scotia
Evan Mounce, saxophone soloist,
with the Nova Scotia Youth Symphony, conducted by Dinuk Wijeratne.

“Cohen’s Concertino is an exemplary piece that gives the soprano saxophone new visibility and also demonstrates the instrument’s versatility.”
- Maestro Paul Ferington, quoted 20 November 2012, Buffalo State College News & Events.

Movement 1 - Allegro assai

Sample Score Pages (PDF)

Movement 2 - Blues (in memory of Ralph Burns) 

Sample Score Pages (PDF)

Movement 3 - Allegro giocoso

Sample Score Pages (PDF)

Please CONTACT US for information on rentals for this piece